>> You smell like robots…

Yes, you!

The world of artificial intelligence (AI) has been growing by leaps and bounds. Even people like Stephen Hawking and Elon Musk are leery of the fact that AI could one day outpace our own limits and take over.

Personally, all I really know about the field is through my editing job and the few movies I’ve seen on the topic. So far I haven’t seen anything that’s cause for concern – yet. Of course that could be due to the fact that I’m no technowhiz. I can code, barely. I know how to turn on my computer and troubleshoot certain things (buttons…I know buttons). I can run circles around a graphics program. But robots? No, my head would explode.

That being said, I have HUGE respect for the people who have chosen this line of study/work. AI, quantum physics, algorithms? OUCH! Makes my brain hurt just thinking about. Kudos to them for advancing the field and human knowledge in general. Progress is good, right?

Now on to the heart of the matter, regardless of Hawking and Musk and their fears:

A brain trust of theoretical physicists is working to advance the decision-making capabilities of robots and autonomous machines by employing the principles of quantum theory. This would allow rapid-fire “active learning in situations where the AI agent actively explores its environment.”

Seems a good way to go. You don’t want robots of the future bumping into walls or blowing up just because some new task wasn’t previously programmed within its parameters. Humans are capable of learning from previous experience (well, most of us), it only seems logical that AI should be able to do the same.

I would attempt to explain further, but I’ll let the researchers speak for themselves.

Love, Lola

PS…Dexter would be giving me this look right about now…

Leave a Reply

