Are we living in a 2D hologram?

I edit on a daily basis. I edit A LOT. I’m one of the lucky ones though. My job is full of interesting science. All day, every day. However, every now and again something really catches my eye and piques my interest.

In a world of maxed out 3D everything, researchers at Fermilab are delving into the world of 2D. To be specific, they want to know if we are all just tiny pixels in a 2D version of space time, as if we’re actually living inside a hologram. To be even more specific, they want to know what the true nature of our universe is.

The researchers say that, “Much like characters on a television show would not know that their seemingly 3-D world exists only on a 2-D screen, we could be clueless that our 3-D space is just an illusion. The information about everything in our universe could actually be encoded in tiny packets in two dimensions.”

Deep…I know. Are we all living in a Simpson’s world?

Rather than go into detail, which I’m still trying to wrap my head around (but I eventually will), here’s the article. I’ll let you decide. It certainly is a great read, and research I wish I could be a part of because they’re using lasers. Yummy!

Image courtesy of Fermilab (Lasers, baby!)

Love, Lola

Leave a Reply

