Can your vegetable garden help save bees?

 

Credit: Dave Goulson/University of Sussex
Credit: Dave Goulson/University of Sussex

If you plan on planting a vegetable garden soon, think about adding in some bumblebee-friendly flowers as well. They’re wonderful pollinators and need our help to thrive. I’ll be asking my family gardener (my father) to do the same. Better pollinators mean bigger, juicier tomoatoes – and I need all I can get for homemade sauce this year.

A two-year study of farms in West Sussex and Hampshire found that England’s most common bumblebee species saw significant population growth where targeted, bee-friendly planting schemes were in place.

Read more here.

5 thoughts on “Can your vegetable garden help save bees?

  1. When I read this post I went to look up pictures of bees. There are about a million flying things outside and I wanted to be informed of when it was okay to throw my shoe (I’m looking at you shady bitch wasps) at stuff. Anyways. I spent about 3 hours researching bees vs wasps / hornets, including a documentary about it. I may not be planting a veggie garden, but at least now I know at what I can throw my shoe at if I’m in danger of being attacked (I swear I draw ALL THE INSECTS TOWARD ME. Can they SMELL my fears???)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean. Here in Texas there are thousands of little bitch wasps EVERYWHERE. And they all seem to want to live at my house. I don’t mind the bumbles or honey bees, but wasps and hornets are just downright mean as hell. I keep a big can of “KILL EM FROM 20 PACES” spray handy at all times. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

