Vegetable garden and a victory against my head!

garden day 1

Yes folks. I WENT OUTSIDE YESTERDAY! I challenged myself last week and asked my dad to come help me plant a small vegetable garden. He’s the master gardener, always has been. Hell, this year he’ll have over 200+ tomato plants growing in his garden, among all the other veggies he is planning on. He’s a farmer’s market kinda man. And that man…well…he never gives up on his baby girl. EVER. He knows my struggles. He talks me through them. And his presence is always comforting.

This is an image from 2010. My handsome, loving, supportive and understanding father. No man will ever quite measure up to him. EVER
This is an image from 2010. My handsome, loving, supportive and understanding father. No man will ever quite measure up to him. EVER

So, I started out the morning knowing full well I had a date with my dad and some dirt. I started off slow – head poked out the door, then onto the back porch, then out into the yard, then finally out to the back all the way several times, and at longer intervals (and without the fog to blanket me in invisibility). All this while working on a piece of artwork to calm me down in between. More on that later because it’s still in progress.

There were a few times where I almost squealed in delight at myself. But there were kids out in the back yard next door and I didn’t want to scare the little heathens. God they’re loud as hell when they’re having fun. Dirty, loud little monsters. LOL

The weather finally warmed up around 11am to where it felt really good to get out in the sun, if only for a few moments at a time. I definitely do need it, the sunshine vitamin. It’s good for you after all.

So, dad shows up around 1:30. I already had my gardening tools ready because I had taken one of those quick trips out back to plant some Texas roses that a friend gave me last year. They’ve been sitting in the shade, in the cold of winter, unwatered except by rain – and they were still alive. Well if that ain’t a kick in the ass. “Lola, get thyself OUT THERE and put us in the ground!” So I did. Luckily it didn’t take long.

Dad and I unloaded his truck and hiked the stuff all the way out to the back fence; you know the one closest to the road less traveled. He could have come in that way, but hey, what’s a little more leg work to get the blood pumping. Me and my shovel and pick-axe, dad and his hoe and pitchfork. We must have been quite the sight. Farmer Manley and his paranoid helper. I swear, it doesn’t matter how old he gets, he seems to gain more energy every year. And thank goodness for that! 3-4 shovels and I’m panting like a dog, and there he is – digging, digging, digging, digging. Man look at him go!

Once the dirt was turned and tilled and suited to his liking, it was finally time to REALLY get dirty. I forgot what it’s like to run your bare hands through freshly-turned dirt. And I forgot how good it smells. Divine!

After about 45 minutes, we were thoroughly satisfied with our work and hunkered down on the patio in the shade with our glasses of ice water and a horrendously impertinent hornet. Ten minutes of me squealing in fear and running around, dad suggested we go back inside. I agreed, because an hour or so of that outside thing was already wearing on my nerves.

This is an older pic showing what my dad usually does after gardening. Too bad I didn't have a swing for him yesterday. He would have napped there for hours. ;-)
This is an older pic showing what my dad usually does after gardening. Too bad I didn’t have a swing for him yesterday. He would have napped there for hours. πŸ˜‰

Sure, it may not have been a long time, but I consider this a MAJOR WIN against my stupid, scared, STOOPID friggin’ brain. But now I have 4 tomato plants, 1 cilantro, multiple green onions and 2 marigolds for keeping those damned pesky insects at bay. This week I will add 1 bell pepper and 1 jalapeno plant inside the empty cage on the right. The cages at this point are more to keep the deer out than anything else.

seed

In a few short months, I will be eating my own vegetables! And I did it! I. DID. IT.

Love, Lola

14 thoughts on “Vegetable garden and a victory against my head!

    1. I used to adore gardening when I wasn’t clouded by this mental thing. Every Spring I would have flowers and vegetables. I’m thinking it’s time to get back in the swing of things. But baby steps for sure. Can’t wait to bite into my first juicy tomato. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I should post some previous pics of my Spring hauls throughout the years. Will save that for later today or perhaps this week. I’m “arting” today πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. LOL it was hard, sweaty work for sure. The bonding time was awesome. And dad, as is usual, played therapist with me going through all the triggers and finding a good balance so I could get er done. He’s my hero for sure. I’ll for sure be posting pics as it grows. I checked this morning and already they’ve grown at least an inch. I guess they like my little dirt pile a lot LOL

      Like

      1. Oh yes! That moment when you first see tiny yellow flowers on your tomato plants is a sure sign that maters are a comin’…every little bud is a promise

        Like

  1. Bravo! Cheers for Lola!! Good for you, girl. Get outside now at least once or twice a week for 15-20 minutes…maybe 30. Make it like that commercial…”Push it, push it real good!” A cure is within you, but you gotta go outside to get it…

    Oh, the garden is nice, and you look good with you dad!

    Spinner

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

