Branches Redux Complete – My Paper Mache Adventure

UPDATE: I think I have found a home for this piece. The Cameron Public Library. I only wish it was much bigger. It will be used as a touch and feel piece for the kids who visit the library. What fun! And I’m formulating a plan for the next piece in this series already. YAY!

Hush, Lola!

branches redux 006It’s finally finished! All I really need now is to finish it off with a nice, thick coat of lacquer. After all is said and done, I’m thoroughly in love with this technique. I wish I had a HUGE canvas to do another sculpted piece.

Here’s the piece step-by-step…

branches redux 001I started with an 11″ x 14″ blank, stretched canvas. I found a bunch of branches and bark in my firewood bin which would have otherwise been thrown away before the start of next winter. I affixed those pieces to the canvas with a low-temp hot glue gun. Took a while as I had to hold each small piece down while they dried.

branches redux 002First coat of paper mache went on. I used pages from a water damaged book (Extraterrestrial Civilizations by Isaac Asimov). After that layer dried, I then had to do a second layer and fix a few…

View original post 109 more words

4 thoughts on “Branches Redux Complete – My Paper Mache Adventure

Leave a Reply

