Why are there worm balls on the road?

Image Credit: Eisenhower State Park - Texas Parks and Wildlife
Image Credit: Eisenhower State Park – Texas Parks and Wildlife

Since worms don’t do interviews, I couldn’t ask them the reasoning behind their strange behavior.

Imagine coming across a sight like this – big balls of earthworms in the middle of the road.

At first, park rangers in Texas thought someone had thrown out spaghetti, but they quickly learned it was something entirely different, Eisenhower State Park Superintendent Ben Herman told ABC News.

Click here for the full story – Why are there worm balls on the road?.

7 thoughts on “Why are there worm balls on the road?

      1. I once ate one, when I was a kid
        I was sitting in my gandpas garden (he was supposed to be baby sitting me) and he was on one end, me the other.
        And I remember seeing this little pink thing move by and like any other toddler in diapers, I plucked it up and put it in my mouth.
        I was chewing one half and had the other in my hand before he saw me.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. I have observed my pet worms (Eisenia fetida aka red wigglers) forming worm balls and climbing en masse out of their worm bin when they disliked something in their environment (too wet, too many orange peels making it acidic, or if it was too dry). Instead of voting with their feet (because they don’t have any!), worms vote with their setae (tiny hairs that help them move through the soil). My guess is that forming a ball is a more effective form of group locomotion for them and helps prevent drying out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

