How to piss off an agoraphobic

It’s kind of funny when you think about it. But mostly for me it’s a thorn in my foot. If you’ve been following my blog, then you know I have what you would call agoraphobia. No, it’s not diagnosed clinically because I can’t even go outside to see a freakin’ shrink. Yes, it’s that bad. I have my good days – where I can go outside in my yard. And sometimes I can even make a short excursion to the store when I’m with someone I truly trust. But only for a short time. Mostly, though, I stay closeted in my house.

The thing is, my family and friends KNOW this fact. They pretty much accept it and don’t push me too hard. My father will nudge me hard sometimes, but he’s doing it out of love and he truly loves my company. He’s more than my father. He’s like my best friend.

But there’s one friend (a best friend from high school) who got pretty catty with me yesterday on Facebook. I know she probably didn’t mean to, but is REALLY pissed me off. See, our high school reunion is coming up in a few weeks and she asked me = “Will you come to the GHS 30th reunion as my date, please?”

I politely said “no” and reminded her gently about my condition. Her answer?

“Sounds like an excuse to me.”

What the hell?! An “excuse”??!! Bitch please!! I’m so angry at her. But I refuse to explain myself yet again. It’s like a broken record. If you know me well enough, you know why I can’t be your fucking date to the reunion. Besides, someone else already asked me to be HER date over a month ago – even though she knew it was only a friendly invite so I wouldn’t feel bad…one she knew would be answered with a “no.” That’s what a REAL friend does.

3 thoughts on “How to piss off an agoraphobic

  1. Ugh! I hate that. I’ve had to deal with catty and snide remarks quite a few times for the same reason. Although for me it was usually weddings and birthday parties and I can understand people being a bit ticked off, but it’s not like you’re trying to do it to hurt them.

    It makes me feel good to get invited to things, but I still struggle with feeling guilty when I inevitably say no. People getting all catty and rude about it makes it so much worse.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Take a deep breath Lola!! Relax…not everyone understands your condition so be patient and just go on about your day – knowing that they are thinking of you and wishing you were there should make you smile sweetie!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

