Happy Thoughts – August 15, 2015

Always save the juice from your pickles and peppers! It’s perfect for creating your own tasty delights, like these carrots, onions and cucumbers.

What I did was save a jar of pickled jalapeno juice I got at the store. I always have at least 3-4 jars of pickle juice in the fridge. Not a hoarder, not lazy, just don’t want to make my own juice. 😉

veggies

What I did for this batch of spicy veggies was to slice and slightly steam the carrots. You can blanch if you want yours a little more on the crunchy side. I like mine steamed and then ice bath until the white ring shows up in the middle of the slice. Then I chopped up a leftover onion butt and a quarter of a peeled cucumber from last week’s salad fixins.

veggies 2

Layer everything together in a mason jar, and if you want, throw some pickled peppers back on top. Then pour the juice in, close the lid tight, and shake the shit out of it. Keep it in the fridge and shake it every now and then for about 24-48 hours.

An easy, quick snack that’s sure to please the palette when you’re craving something spicy. I always stand in front of the fridge with the door open happily munching away. Just don’t do what I always seem to do and use your hands. I am always getting pepper juice in my eyes that way LOL.

5 thoughts on “Happy Thoughts – August 15, 2015

    1. I always make sure to still go by the “best by” date on the jar of course, but you know how long pickles last. And as much as I eat pickled things, it’s a true time-saver. If I ate more than I do now, I would be pickled myself. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

