Happy Thoughts – August 19, 2015

So, yeah, it’s been a few days since my last “happy thoughts” post. But only because I couldn’t find one. It’s been a rough few days to say the least. I won’t bore you with the details. It’s my own battle. But here’s something that truly inspired me today.

If you remember, my happy thought on the 14th was about collecting seeds from my balloon plant. At the time I mentioned a “dome of growth” under all the dry stuff. Well, here it is.

life

What’s really weird is the fact that we haven’t had a drop of rain in over 50 days, and I gave up watering anything about 20-25 days ago. My water bill was WAY too high. (Pick your battles, right?)

Every ounce of dirt in this pot is so dry that it’s almost turned to dust. Yet there is life, right in front of my eyes, hanging on and renewing itself with not so much as a “howdoyado” from me.

To top it off, I peered out back earlier. Way out back where my “dead” vegetable garden is. There’s spots of red out yoner. More life where death should be. Odd.

I think, perhaps, there is a lesson I’m supposed to be learning from all this fucking symbolism. But first…PLEASE give me some rain!

Leave a Reply

