Eco-bikini cleans up like nothing else can

So, like, you all know by now that I’m a nerd…a geek.

I don’t care what you call it. That’s me.

Let me start off this post with some disclaimers:

  • It’s been about 8 years since I’ve worn a bikini
  • I’ve never used – or even seen in real life – a 3d printer
  • I’m not a beach-goer mostly

Despite all these things, I am fascinated with this piece of wearable technology that recently won the Reshape 15 Wearable Technology Competition.

Credit: Eray Carbajo
Credit: Eray Carbajo

See, it’s a fabric – surrounded in a 3d-printed thingie – that soaks up all the bad shit out of the water.

Things like oil spills and all kinds of nasty waste. I’ll let you think about what all that could include.

“This is a super material that is not harmful to the environment and very cost effective to produce,” said one of the engineers.

Imagine a bunch of busty women in bikinis cleaning up the oceans for the good of mankind, instead of just lying there making men drool.

Yeah, I wrote an article about this one too. Who wouldn’t? 3D printing. Nanotechnology. It’s fascinating.

Love, Lola

5 thoughts on “Eco-bikini cleans up like nothing else can

    1. Same here. But the team says the material could also be incorporated into things like bathing suits, swimming caps, and wet suits. Maybe one day they’ll find other ways to incorporate it into other things too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

