Your kitty won’t kill you

nonono

This morning I had the pleasure of covering a popular news item that popped up overnight.

Various headlines on the Internet included:

Your cat may want to kill you” and “Cats ARE neurotic and they’re also trying to work out how to kill you.”

Etc. etc. etc. Blah blah blah

And the news snippets on television were even worse. Hey, when you have less than 30 seconds to convey an entire story that you only spent 60 seconds researching, you go with the flow. Catch em, reel em in, give em hell, and then send em to work. Right?

Here’s the part where I go “GRRRR!”

Knowing full well that my kitties aren’t THAT evil, I had to go do my homework and give people the WHOLE story. Of course with my usual witty banter.

Well as much as I could muster with less than 1 cup of coffee in my system.

Armed with a list of leads and sources and background information, I cracked my knuckles, hitched my britches up, and dug in.

The whole thing is based on a (semi)new and slightly obscure study conducted by researchers at the University of Edinburgh and the Bronx Zoo. And let me tell you, at 3am in the morning, press statements and supporting materials can be pretty hard to find.

I’m a rebel though, and patient. And I know how to take leads (i.e. online media pieces) and scan for clues. This is where Google and a few well-kept secrets come in handy as well. Heck, most of my friends know to come to me when they need proof of something.

I found the study thanks to one source actually providing the link. Sometimes they do, sometimes they don’t. It’s a crapshoot. Never believe it unless you can get to at least the study abstract. Seriously!

Anyway, here’s my article. Humor and science all in one neat, little package.

Leave a Reply

