A death in the family

SpeeeIder copy

I meant to post this yesterday, but time just got away from me. The sad news is, she’s gone. My constant companion since early August has passed on, leaving behind 3 eggs sacs for me to deal with. I’m not sure how to feel. I know she’s just a spider, but she greeted me every morning from her perch on my back patio, and that kind of made my day start off better.

Here’s what I had penned yesterday, when things were looking a bit brighter. What a difference 24 hours can make. 😦

A little update on Ms Spee Ider. She’s had a terribly rough week.

When the rains came through last weekend, they brought with them some wind. Well, after the storms subsided, she was nowhere to be found. I thought perhaps she had gone off to deposit another egg sac.

A few days later and she was still missing, her web in tatters from lack of use. I searched high and low to no avail. But luckily for her, I’m stubborn when it comes to finding lost friends.

I finally found her on Tuesday, barely clinging to the bottom brick of the wall right below her web. She was missing 2/3rds of her right/front leg. The rest was shriveled and of no use.

I watched her desperately try to navigate the brick, but she couldn’t do it and kept slipping. She looked so feeble and frail and thin.

After a few failed attempts, I took matters into my own hands. Well, not my bare hands. I grabbed a stick and gingerly invited her to hop on board. She did.

I placed her and the stick up high next to her web and told her to disembark. She did. And I just know that somewhere in that little spider brain of hers she was thankful. As much as a spider could be anyway.

I’ve been keeping a strict eye on her and this morning I finally saw her eating happily away on a small moth. I know she doesn’t have much longer, but we’ve been constant companions for a good part of the year. I would like to give her as much time as I can before she succumbs to the cold and her inevitable frosty death.

2 thoughts on “A death in the family

Leave a Reply

