2016 – A New Beginning?

Looking back, looking forward, looking up, looking down. Lookie there!

lightning

Wow! It’s hard to believe that 2015 is almost over! On this day last year, I posted about my strife and confusion as to which way to go. I had hoped for a new beginning, as I always do when nearing the year’s end.

Not much has changed. Not much at all.

I still only got out once this year, and to the very same place: the lake. And it was with my children again. I did manage to go out several times during that week though. That was fun!

The Man had to move back in so we could share expenses. That has helped the budget a tiny bit, although he’s terrible at budgeting so sometimes we’ve gotten down to our last few dollars WAY too early in the week. :: shrug :: I suppose that’s to be expected.

Thanks to the generosity of friends, I received some cushion here and there. It certainly wasn’t enough to get me through the entire year, but damn I love my friends!

I do make a tiny stipend every month from my business venture that is just enough to pay for 2/3rds of the rent, but that’s it. My business partner and I started STEAM Register as a way to keep on doing what we were doing before we both got “dumped.” It’s just taking some time to get it making money.

It’s been a long, tough road, and we’re looking at 2016 with much fear in our eyes. But we’re doing our best to get this thing off the ground without having to dump a ton of cash on advertising. Neither of us have said cash anyway. That’s why we rely on as many eyeballs as we can get. Yes, our site is full of ads, but let’s face it, what news site isn’t? That’s the nature of the beast.

If I had to put only one thing on my list of New year’s resolutions, it would be to keep my head down and my fingers flying. You know what they say, “No news is good news?” Well, in my world, “no news is bad news.” I have to keep on keepin’ on until they pry the keyboard from my cold, dead hands. STEAM Register HAS to work. IT. HAS. TO.

It was a pretty decent year as far as creativity is concerned. I’ve learned to set aside some time almost every day to do something. It’s funny though, I’ve got so many projects going on right now, none of them quite complete. I definitely need to learn to finish projects before starting new ones. My brain just gets so excited sometimes and I can’t help myself. So, as far as art goes, I’m hoping I will get these projects finished as soon as possible in 2016 so that I can get even more going. Oh, and clean up my damn studio. It’s a wreck. 😉

I sincerely wish for you all to have a wonderful, happy, fruitful, and fun 2016!

Love, Lola

 

3 thoughts on “2016 – A New Beginning?

Leave a Reply

