Pork Chops with Dewberry Orange Glaze

chop 5A simple dish with a delightful bite! The star is the dewberry orange glaze, made using my father’s homemade dewberry jam. You can substitute any other seedless berry jam, of course.

The pics aren’t terribly awesome, but only because I was working under some extreme pressure. During the prep work, the pipes under my kitchen sink decided to fall off.

Yes, they freakin’ fell off!

All The Man and I heard was a “thump” and we’re both like, “WTF was that?!”

Thankfully I wasn’t running the faucet all that much so there wasn’t a ton of water spillage. But then my next thought was, “Oh crap! Look at all these freakin’ dishes I’m going to have to take a bath with!” You know plumbers don’t like to work on Sundays either, right?

Never fear! Junior is here!

Luckily, I have a very sweet and highly skilled nephew nearby. All he said was, “Auntie. Don’t turn on the water please. I will be right over.”

Bless his heart!

He showed up shortly thereafter and had it all put back together (plus a few new pieces) and working within 15 minutes. And he even fixed the leak on my sprayer!

So, 20 minutes later and I could begin cooking the meal in earnest. Still, the pictures are awful. However, the end product was delish!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme (or 1 teaspoon fresh minced thyme)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried sage (or 1 teaspoon fresh minced sage)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 4-6 boneless pork chops (depending on thickness and the size of your stomach)
  • 1 tablespoon Butter
  • 1 tablespoon Olive oil
  • About 1/4 cup dewberry jam (eyeball it based on how sweet you want it)
  • Juice of 1 large orange
  • 1 tablespoon finely minced orange rind (Use a potato peeler and lightly remove the rind above the white part.)
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar (again, add more or less depending on your taste)

Destructions

Preheat your oven to about 200-250 degrees. Mine was already on 250 because I had just finished roasting potatoes.

Mix the thyme, sage, salt and pepper and rub all over the pork chops. I did mine beforehand and left them covered in the fridge. I like to be prepared!

In a non-stick skillet, heat butter and oil and cook your pork chops about 3-5 minutes per side depending on thickness. Take out of skillet and place in the preheated oven.

In the same skillet, combine orange juice, rind, jam and vinegar. Bring to a boil and cook until it has reduced to your desired consistency. Once you remove it from the heat, it will thicken a bit more. Here’s where I got impatient and didn’t let it reduce enough. But it was good anyway, and a great lesson for next time.

Put some of the glaze on the bottom of your plate and put the chops on top. Spoon remaining glaze over the top of the pork chops. The orange peels really do pop that way. And guess what, I’ll be damned if that glaze didn’t taste awesome with the roasted potatoes and celery as well! Who knew?!

All-in-all, I would say total prep/cooking time is less than 30 minutes if you play your cards right. Cleanup, however, may take a little longer. Isn’t that always the way?

Oh, and dewberry season is nearing here in Texas. That means the next time I can toss in a few fresh berries as well!

Love, Lola 😉

13 thoughts on “Pork Chops with Dewberry Orange Glaze

    1. Great! Blackberry would make a great substitute, and probably would result in a thicker sauce. Dewberries and blackberries are quite similar in their tartness. As long as the jam is seedless, any berry would work I think. I’m curious how strawberry jam glaze would work on roasted chicken. I may have to try that next.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

