Il pleure dans mon cœur – Paul Verlaine

A poem of Paul Verlaine, interpreted by Laura Dussard and recorded by Thalie Envolée. (in French but I have added the English translation below.)

Il pleure dans mon cœur
Comme il pleut sur la ville,)
Quelle est cette langueur
Qui pénètre mon cœur ?

Ô bruit doux de la pluie
Par terre et sur les toits !
Pour un cœur qui s’ennuie,
Ô le chant de la pluie !

Il pleure sans raison
Dans ce cœur qui s’écœure.
Quoi ! nulle trahison ?
Ce deuil est sans raison.

C’est bien la pire peine
De ne savoir pourquoi,
Sans amour et sans haine,
Mon cœur a tant de peine !

———————

He is crying in my heart
As it rains on the city,
What is this languor
That penetrates my heart?

O sweet sound of rain
Ground and on rooftops!
For a heart bored,
O the song of the rain!

He cries for no reason
In this sickened heart.
What! no treason ?
This mourning is without reason.

It’s the worst pain
Not know why,
Without love or hatred,
My heart hurts so much !

6 thoughts on “Il pleure dans mon cœur – Paul Verlaine

Leave a Reply

