Hope In The Distance, The Devil Behind

Copyright Lola Gayle Christopher | 2016

Expectations of hope
Desires all unchanged
Longing for peace now
Its control is so strange

Is what I see coming
A change in us all?
Divided we stand
Or united we fall?

I feel it stalking me
There from afar
Treading so lightly
A face so bizarre

Is what I see coming
A change in us all?
Resistance is futile
We’re all in its thrall

The anger of voices
So loud in my ear
Is nothing sacred?
Nothing too dear?

Is what I see coming
A change in us all?
Hope felt on Monday
Tomorrow the fall

Or have we all changed now
Just yesterday’s dream
Is hope a reminder
Or a slow silent scream

Is what I see coming
A change in us all
Belief is so blind now
Something muted its call

I have no beliefs now
In capacity of man
To have tender moments
Is this all that I am?

Is what I see coming
A change in us all?
Divided we stand
Or united we fall?

Copyright Lola Gayle Christopher | 2016

Leave a Reply

